Sport News

Supplied by

Shannon Gabriel charged by ICC after Joe Root exchange

8:57 pm, 12th February 2019

After an exchange between the pair on Monday, Root told Windies bowler Gabriel: “Don’t use it as an insult. There’s nothing wrong with being gay.”

Root’s comments could be heard on television having been picked up via the stump microphone, but Gabriel’s part of the conversation was not audible.

An ICC statement read: “Shannon Gabriel has been charged with a breach Article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct. The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further.”

Root, who has received widespread praise for his role in the incident, said on Monday evening that Gabriel “might regret” his comments.

“It’s Test cricket, he’s an emotional guy trying to do everything he can to win a Test match,” Root said.

“Sometimes people say things on the field that they might regret, but they should stay on the field.

“He’s a good guy who plays hard cricket and is proud to be in the position he is. The battle was a good contest, he’s had a wonderful series and he should be proud.”

The Windies had already secured an unassailable 2-0 series lead going into the third Test, but England, aided by Root’s second innings century, are on the verge of a consolation victory on day four in St Lucia.