On Air Now James Bentley 6:00am - 10:00am
Now Playing Twin Atlantic Heart And Soul

Mézec Or Moore For Chief Minister

Jersey's next Chief Minister will be either Deputy Sam Mézec or Deputy Kristina Moore.

They have put their names forward to replace John Le Fondré in the island's top political job.

Mr. Le Fondré, who failed to get re-elected last week, said he was not planning to run for Chief Minister again.

Jersey Alliance leader Sir Mark Boleat was the party's choice, but he also failed to get elected.

Constable Philip Le Sueur was the only one of the 14 Jersey Alliance candidates to win enough votes last week.

Jersey Liberal Conservatives leader Sir Philip Bailhache declared his intention to run for Chief Minister if elected.

He is part of the next States Assembly, but couldn't get enough support to go for Chief Minister.

Only two other members of the Jersey Liberal Conservatives and Progress Party coalition have been elected.

Deputy Moore topped the polls in St Ouen, St Peter, and St Mary and got more votes than anyone with 2,730.

The 'A Better Way' member would be Jersey's first female Chief Minister.

Her nomination paper has 30 signatures, making her the overwhelming favourite for the role.

She has received the support of several States members on social media over the last few days.

Deputy Mézec received the highest number of votes in St Helier South.

He is the leader of Reform Jersey, which has doubled the number of seats it occupies in the States Assembly.

His nine signatories are his party colleagues.

The decision will be made by States members on Tuesday 5 July.

The chosen candidate will put forward their Council of Ministers' picks on Monday 11 July.

Other States members can challenge for the roles.

Deputy Moore's 30 signatures

  • Constable Karen Shenton-Stone
  • Constable Andy Jehan
  • Deputy Steve Ahier
  • Deputy Barbara Ward
  • Deputy David Warr
  • Deputy Kirsten Morel
  • Deputy Lucy Stephenson
  • Constable Richard Vibert
  • Deputy Helen Miles
  • Deputy Ian Gorst
  • Deputy Elaine Millar
  • Deputy Jonathan Renouf
  • Deputy Philip Ozouf
  • Deputy Hilary Jeune
  • Deputy Alex Curtis
  • Constable Simon Crowcroft
  • Constable David Johnson
  • Deputy Louise Doublet
  • Constable Richard Honeycombe
  • Deputy Mary Le Hegarat
  • Deputy Tom Binet
  • Deputy Rose Binet
  • Deputy Karen Wilson
  • Deputy Carolyn Labey
  • Deputy Max Andrews
  • Deputy Inna Gardiner
  • Deputy Andy Howell
  • Deputy Lyndon Farnham
  • Constable Marcus Troy
  • Constable Mark Labey

Deputy Mezec's 9 signatures

  • Deputy Lyndsay Feltham
  • Deputy Geoff Southern
  • Deputy Catherine Curtis
  • Deputy Tom Coles
  • Deputy Beatriz Poree
  • Deputy Montfort Tadier
  • Deputy Raluca Kovacs
  • Deputy Rob Ward
  • Deputy Carina Alves

Eight States members haven't signed either nomination form.

They are:

  • Deputy Sir Philip Bailhache
  • Constable Deidre Mezbourian
  • Constable Mike Jackson
  • Constable Kevin Lewis
  • Deputy Malcolm Ferey
  • Deputy Moz Scott
  • Constable Philip Le Sueur
  • Deputy Steve Luce

More from Jersey News

Island FM VIP

Get more with the Island FM VIP!

Download Our App

Never miss a moment from Island FM

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa