New States Members Sworn In

Jersey's 49 newly-elected States Members have been sworn-in to office at the Royal Court.

22 of them have taken the oath for the very first time.  

They have made the promise to uphold Jersey's freedoms and to attend meetings of the States Assembly 'whenever called upon to do so.'

Read: Who has won a seat in the States Assembly?

The new House comprises 21 women (43%) which is the highest proportion there has ever been matches Wales for gender balance in a British parliament.

The island also has its first black and Romanian politicians.  Equality groups have welcomed the more diverse Assembly.

The first job of the new crop of politicians will be to choose a Chief Minister.

They will decide on a leader when they meet for the first time in the States Chamber on Tuesday 5 July.

Nominations forms  - signed by six supporting States Members - must be submitted by 5pm today.

The three known contenders are Kristina Moore, Reform Jersey Sam Mezec and ex-Bailiff and Senator Sir Philip Bailhache.

Former Chief Minister Ian Gorst has publicly declared his support for Kristina Moore:

St John Constable Andy Jehan and Deputy-elect Philip Ozouf, who's returned to the political arena  - have signed Kristina Moore's nomination paper


Kristina Moore also has the support of her three 'Better Way' group running-mates Lucy Stephenson, Alex Curtis and David Warr.

Following his swearing-in, Deputy Warr told Channel 103:

"There's so many good people around.  It's such a good mixture of people.  I just feel full of optimism that we are going to have a much more co-operative parliament."



More from Jersey News

Just Played Songs

Weather Forecast

  • Sat


  • Sun


  • Mon


  • Tue


  • Wed


Island FM VIP

Get more with the Island FM VIP!

93.7-104.7 FM & DAB+
Island FM app
'Alexa, play Island FM'